The Mercedes-Benz S-Class:  Always impeccably dressed

· Unbroken tradition from 1951 through today

· Outstanding car in every detail – comfort, safety, engineering, design

· World’s best-selling premium-class car

People have always bought the Mercedes-Benz S-Class for its effortless and luxurious ride quality.  Or for its outstanding safety features.  Or for its pioneering technology.  And they’re right, of course.  But the S-Class offers much more besides.

The Mercedes-Benz S-Class is the ultimate reward for a lifestyle shaped by mobility, individuality, success and sophistication.  You don’t simply decide to buy an S-Class:  it comes to you when fate has ordained that your life should take that course.  The door closes with a reassuring clunk – and you have arrived.  This is what makes the car and its predecessors unique among the world’s great saloons.  And that’s the way it has been for almost 60 years.

The S-Class from the W 221 series was presented at the 2005 IAA.  In 2009 it underwent a comprehensive model enhancement package, which prompted Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Chairman of the Board of Management at Daimler AG and Head of Mercedes-Benz Cars, to comment:  “The S-Class is a worldwide market leader.  Thanks to its state-of-the-art technology, first-class comfort and pioneering safety systems, the flagship model from Mercedes-Benz is considered the avant-garde of automotive development.”

The S-Class story begins officially with the W 116 (1972 to 1980).  It was the first to be given the model designation that soon became symbolic of a genre.  Not for nothing was the S-Class frequently referred to as the finest car in the world.  But the history of the S-Class actually goes back much further.

The following models laid the foundations for the post-war tradition of the great Mercedes-Benz premium-class saloons:

· 220, W 187 series (1951 to 1954)

· 220 a, 219, 220 S and 220 SE,
W 180/105/128 series (1954 to 1959)

· 220 b, 220 Sb, 220 SEb, 230 S, 300 SE, 300 SEL,
W 111/112 series (1959 to 1968)

· 250 S – 300 SEL 6.3, W 108/109 series (1965 to 1972)

· S-Class, W 116 series (1972 to 1980)

· S-Class, W 126 series (1979 to 1991)

· S-Class, W 140 series (1991 to 1998)

· S-Class, W 220 series (1998 to 2005)

· S-Class, W 221 series (from 2005)

The S-Class from the W 221 series entered series production in 2005 with a wealth of technical innovations that made the Mercedes-Benz flagship a model of passenger car development as a whole – including Brake Assist PLUS with radar sensors, Night View Assist with infrared technology, the new advanced COMAND system and preventive passenger protection system PRE-SAFE® with additional functions, Active Body Control and the dynamic multi-contour seat with additional massage function.  Not long after its market launch it became the world’s number one top-selling luxury saloon and firmly established itself in the international prestige class market.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email